View all results
Note: Due to COVID–19, orders may take longer for dispatch and arrival at destination.
For the Mouth of the Lord Has SpokenThe Doctrine of Scripture

For the Mouth of the Lord Has Spoken

The Doctrine of Scripture

Guy Prentiss Waters
  • £14.99
Buy 0 and save 0% (£14.99 / book)
Buy 10 and save 20% (£11.99 / book)
Buy 20 and save 25% (£11.24 / book)
Buy 35 and save 40% (£8.99 / book)

This product is due for release in November 2020

Endorsements

What can be more important than understanding the Book that God gave us? Dr. Guy Waters thoroughly, carefully, and winsomely sets before us the riches of the doctrine of Scripture. He alerts us to faulty thinking of the past and the present and also commends to us a faithful and orthodox view of the Bible, the very words of God, which are life itself.

Stephen J. Nichols, President, Reformation Bible College, CAO Ligonier Ministries, Sanford, Florida

Given the fact that apart from God's self-disclosure in Scripture, the church has no objective warrant for making theological claims, it is always welcome and necessary to have books that expound and defend Scripture as God's Word written. In this very helpful and readable work, Guy Waters gives us a faithful exposition of what Scripture is by discussing the classic attributes of Scripture in light of the Reformation and contemporary discussions. For Christians today who want to articulate and defend what Scripture is as God's authoritative and trustworthy Word, especially in light of current challenges, this book is a must-read!

It is a first–class treatment of the doctrine, rich in the categories of systematic and historical theology. … it is written with the admirable clarity and deceptive simplicity for which Waters is becoming known. And finally, it ends with courteous but firm engagement with Karl Barth and Peter Enns.

D. A. Carson, Research Professor of New Testament, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, Deerfield, Illinois

… faithfully explains not only what the Bible is, but why God has given it to us—what He has designed for His Word to do in and through us. Along the way, Waters also teaches us both how to read the Bible and how to apply it to our daily lives. 

L. Michael Morales, Professor of Biblical Studies, Greenville Presbyterian Theological Seminary, Greenville, South Carolina

This is an important contribution to a discussion necessitated by what an apostle called ‘God’s oracles’ (Rom. 3:2) in an intellectual atmosphere that prizes human speculation over divine revelation.

Robert W. Yarbrough, Professor of New Testament, Covenant Theological Seminary, St. Louis, Missouri

While Christians put their trust in the Lord, their knowledge of the Lord depends upon His sure and steady Word, the Holy Scriptures. Therefore, the doctrine of the Holy Scriptures is central to the Christian faith. Guy Waters helps us to listen to God’s testimony in His Word to the inspired reliability of His Word. This much-needed, well-written book stands firmly in the tradition of Augustine, Calvin, Turretin, and Warfield as it teaches and defends the Bible’s inspiration and authority.

Joel R. Beeke, President, Puritan Reformed Theological Seminary, Grand Rapids, Michigan

… meets challenges head–on, showing how the Reformed doctrine of Scripture, which takes seriously Scripture itself, best answers challenges old and new. Waters helps us see how the Bible is—wonderfully—a book unlike any other.

Brandon D. Crowe, Associate Professor of New Testament, Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Select shipping destination

UK USA Rest of World