View all results
Heart Songs for Every SaintEngaging with God Through Times of Darkness & Light

Heart Songs for Every Saint

Engaging with God Through Times of Darkness & Light

William J. U. Philip
  • £8.99
Buy 10 and save 20% (£7.19 / book)
Buy 20 and save 25% (£6.74 / book)
Buy 35 and save 30% (£6.29 / book)


William Philip encourages readers to use the Psalms as their own heart songs, in any circumstance.


Don’t just admire the Psalms, use them. Psalms are Spirit–inspired prayers that help us to pray rightly and truly. They give us words we trust, and treasure as our own heart songs, as we engage with God through times of both darkness and light.


William Philip shows us that in the Psalms we find a profound revelation of God, His nature, and His ways, as well as His relationship with His people. They help us deal with all aspects of our sojourning faith, both individually and in the corporate life of the church. They give us real ‘working models’ for living day by day as Christians.

Heart Songs for Every Saint takes six of these psalms, and shows how they can be prayed in real life situations:

  1. When God Seems Absent: Psalms 10 – A Song of Protest
  2. Right Sacrifices for Real Sinners: Psalm 51 – A Song of Penitence
  3. When We in Darkness Walk: Psalm 88 – A Song of Pain
  4. Safe in the Shadow of the Almighty: Psalm 91 – A Song of Promise
  5. Where Does Your Help Come From?: Psalm 121 – A Song of Pilgrimage
  6. Joining the Choir of the King: Psalm 145 – A Song of Praise
William J. U. Philip

About William J. U. Philip

William Philip has been senior minister of The Tron Church in Glasgow since 2004, and is chairman of Cornhill Scotland, training pastors for expository preaching. Formerly he was director of ministry at The Proclamation Trust in London, and prior to ordination, a doctor specializing in cardiology. He has authored a number of books, including Teaching John (with Dick Lucas), Teaching Matthew (with David Jackman), Why We Pray, Songs for a Saviour’s Birth and Aspects of Love.


  • Author: William J. U. Philip
  • Release Date: July 2024
  • Pages: 144
  • Format: Trade paperback
  • Dimensions: 198 x 130
  • ISBN: 9781527111363
  • Imprint: Christian Focus
  • Category: Commentaries > Old Testament > Poetry & Wisdom Literature


Following a splendid introduction to the Psalter, this marvellous little book exemplifies the very qualities it identifies in the Psalms. As it takes us through Psalms of protest, penitence, pain, promise pilgrimage and – finally – praise, I found ‘my imagination, stirred my emotions excited and my intellect fed’. It is a wonderful blend of raw human experience, intelligent contemporary insight, and good, old–fashioned heart–warming piety. What a lovely book to own, read and give away liberally.

Richard Cunningham, Former Director, Universities and Colleges Christian Fellowship (UCCF), United Kingdom

With our feelings and worries so easily all over the place, it is a wonderful thing to read these six expositions of six excellent psalms (’heart songs’) and find anchor. William Philip gives such careful attention to God’s text and such fitting application to His world that I found myself buoyed up again by the truth and grateful for a small book of pastoral help that I can give anybody and everybody.

Simon Manchester, Former Minister, St Thomas’ Anglican Church, Sydney, Australia
Read more

Additional Downloads

Select shipping destination

UK USA & Canada Rest of World